Capitularia - Edition of the Frankish Capitularies

About the project

Aims

The new edition of the Frankish capitularies aims to take their unique history of transmission into full consideration.

While capitularies originated as individual texts from deliberations and assemblies at court, they are transmitted exclusively in collections produced locally by royal agents. The edition will therefore pursue two goals during one joint process of exploration and editing: (1) each capitulary will be edited and translated as an individual text, reconstructing its original form, to be published in print; (2) each collection will be published as a digital edition online, making it easier for scholars everywhere to study the way in which capitularies were enacted locally and passed on.

The digital edition, with its diplomatic transcriptions of the various collections, not only provides the material for the printed edition, but is meant as its permanent counterpart. For historians are not only interested in reconstructed original texts but also in their (re-)combination and (re-)ordering, and in the actual wording in which contemporaries transmitted, read and used these texts. The combination of digital and printed edition elucidates the road from individual manuscript to critical text while respecting the historical value of each collection. At the same time the project’s website provides the opportunity to combine and present new findings on the form and transmission of capitularies.


Edition schedule

The publication of the texts will progress in chronological sequence according to the reign of their respective issuer, starting with the capitularies of Louis the Pious (814-840). The transcription of the relevant manuscripts should be finished by 2017, with the critical edition due for print thereafter.

The next phase will see the transcription and publication of capitularies from 840 to 920, followed by the capitularies from 507/511 to 813. Therefore, the collections of capitularies as transmitted within the various manuscripts will only be published digitally in part at first, with the remaining segments to be added successively as the edition progresses.

The digital edition is being taken care of by a team in Cologne under the direction of Prof. Karl Ubl, while the critical edition is being prepared jointly by the five editors.


Editorial history

Previous editions

Scholarship showed a distinct interest in capitularies from an early stage. Already in 1677 an edition was published by Étienne Baluze. The Monumenta Germaniae Historica (MGH), founded in 1819, planned a new edition which was intended to meet the scholarly standards of a modern critical edition. However, the resulting edition by Georg Heinrich Pertz, published in 1835, despite considering more manuscripts than Baluze, was soon considered outdated due to further manuscripts being found, as well as progress in the field of constitutional history. For these reasons Georg Waitz, who succeeded Pertz in directing the MGH, soon commissioned Alfred Boretius to prepare a new edition. Its first volume was published in 1883 with the second one finished for print by Victor Krause due to Boretius’ deteriorating health (1897). In turn this edition was criticised almost immediately for technical shortcomings, leading to calls for its replacement. In his classic introduction to capitularies, François Louis Ganshof stated: “A new edition of the capitularies is one of the most pressing needs of medieval scholarship” (Ganshof 1961, p. 22).

Étienne BaluzeGeorg Heinrich PertzAlfred Boretius

Preparatory work on a new edition

Because of the sustained criticism of the old edition, in 1979 the MGH commissioned Hubert Mordek with the preparation of a new edition. Mordek directed this project until his death in 2006 without being able to complete the edition. His valuable preparatory work, including a survey of the extant manuscript transmission, informs his Bibliotheca capitularium regum Francorum manuscripta (Mordek 1995) which offers detailed and extensive descriptions of every manuscript containing capitularies. The number of 282 manuscripts bears witness to the wide dissemination of these texts across the Frankish realm and beyond. In the course of his work Mordek came across 27 texts that had been overlooked in previous editions. These new texts are presented in preliminary editions in the Bibliotheca’s appendix.

After Mordek’s death the MGH decided to split the project in two. For the time from the sixth century to Charlemagne’s death (814), Mordek had left behind significant preparatory work. This part was therefore entrusted to Michael Glatthaar (Freiburg), Mordek’s student. For capitularies after 814 such preparatory work was lacking, and Klaus Zechiel-Eckes (Cologne) stepped in. Zechiel-Eckes took part in the production of a sample edition of Charlemagne’s most influential capitulary, the Admonitio generalis from 789. This edition was published by the MGH in 2012 (repr. Glatthaar 2013a). However, Zechiel-Eckes could not properly start with his part of the edition prior to his own death in 2010. In March 2011, this part was therefore entrusted by the MGH to a group of editors: Philippe Depreux (Universität Hamburg), Stefan Esders (Freie Universität Berlin), Steffen Patzold (Universität Tübingen) and Karl Ubl (Universität zu Köln).

Über das Projekt

Projektziel

Die Neuedition der Kapitularien setzt sich zum Ziel, der besonderen Überlieferungssituation dieser Quellengattung gerecht zu werden.

Die Kapitularien sind als Einzelstücke aus Beratungen und Versammlungen am Hof hervorgegangen, überliefert sind sie jedoch ausschließlich im Rahmen von Sammlungen, die dezentral von Funktionsträgern des Herrschers zusammengestellt wurden. Die Edition wird daher parallel zwei Ziele verfolgen, die in einem gemeinsamen Erschließungs- und Editionsprozess erreicht werden: Zum einen sollen die Herrschererlasse als Einzelstücke kritisch ediert und in ihrer rekonstruierten Form mit Übersetzung in Buchform publiziert werden; zum anderen sollen die für die Wirkungs- und Rezeptionsgeschichte zentralen Sammlungen erschlossen und in einer digitalen Edition für die Forschung zugänglich gemacht werden.

Die digitale Edition liefert mit den diplomatischen Transkriptionen der einzelnen Kapitulariensammlungen nicht nur die Grundlage für die kritische Printedition, sondern ist als dauerhafte Ergänzung zu dieser angelegt. Für die historische Forschung ist nämlich nicht nur der originale, rekonstruierte Wortlaut von Interesse, sondern auch die Zusammenstellung und Anordnung der Stücke sowie der in den Sammlungen überlieferte Wortlaut, in dem diese Texte verbreitet, gelesen und angewandt wurden. Durch die Kombination von digitaler und Printedition wird der Weg vom kritischen Text zurück zu den individuellen Überlieferungszeugen dokumentiert und der historische Eigenwert der Sammlungen gewürdigt. Zugleich bietet die Projekthomepage eine Plattform, auf der neue Erkenntnisse zum Inhalt und zur Überlieferung der Kapitularien zusammengeführt und präsentiert werden können.


Editionsplan

Die Publikation der Texte erfolgt in chronologischer Reihenfolge nach der Regierungszeit ihrer Aussteller. Zunächst werden die Kapitularien Ludwigs des Frommen (814-840) ediert. Die Transkription der handschriftlichen Überlieferung soll 2017 abgeschlossen sein, die kritische Edition wird danach im Druck erscheinen.

In der nächsten Phase werden die Kapitularien nach 840 bis 920 transkribiert und kritisch ediert, abschließend folgen die Kapitularien von 507/11 bis 813. Die Transkriptionen der in den einzelnen Handschriften enthaltenen Kapitulariensammlungen werden daher zunächst nur in Teilen digital veröffentlicht und im Rahmen des chronologischen Fortschreitens der Edition sukzessive vervollständigt.

Für die digitale Edition ist die von Prof. Karl Ubl geleitete Arbeitsstelle in Köln verantwortlich, die kritische Printedition wird gemeinschaftlich von einem Editorenteam erarbeitet.


Editionsgeschichte

Ältere Editionen

Die Kapitularien haben schon früh das Interesse der Forschung geweckt. Eine erste Edition erschien bereits 1677 (Étienne Baluze). Die 1819 gegründeten Monumenta Germaniae Historica (MGH) planten eine Neuedition der Kapitularien, die erstmals modernen wissenschaftlichen Ansprüchen an eine kritische Edition genügen sollte. Die mit diesem Ziel 1835 erschienene Ausgabe von Georg Heinrich Pertz beruhte zwar auf einer im Vergleich zu Baluze breiteren handschriftlichen Grundlage, war aber bald durch neue Textfunde sowie durch verfassungsgeschichtliche Kritik überholt. Deshalb betraute der Nachfolger von Pertz in der Leitung der MGH, Georg Waitz, schon wenig später Alfred Boretius mit einer Neuedition. Im Jahr 1883 erschien der erste Band, der zweite wurde aufgrund einer schweren Erkrankung von Boretius durch Victor Krause zu Ende gebracht (1897). Die Edition von Boretius und Krause ist jedoch bereits gleich nach ihrem Erscheinen wegen handwerklicher Mängel in die Kritik geraten und gilt seit langem als überarbeitungsbedürftig. François Louis Ganshof konstatierte in seinem Standardwerk über die Kapitularien: „Eine Neuausgabe der Kapitularien gehört zu den vordringlichsten Anliegen der mittelalterlichen Forschung“ (Ganshof 1961, S. 22).

Étienne BaluzeGeorg Heinrich PertzAlfred Boretius

Vorarbeiten zu einer neuen Edition

Aufgrund der sich verdichtenden Kritik an der alten Edition vergaben die MGH 1979 den Auftrag zu einer Neuedition an Hubert Mordek. Mordek leitete das Projekt bis zu seinem Tod im Jahr 2006, ohne die Edition zum Abschluss gebracht zu haben. Seine wertvollen Vorarbeiten hinsichtlich der Sammlung des handschriftlichen Materials flossen in die „Bibliotheca capitularium regum Francorum manuscripta“ (Mordek 1995) ein, die eine umfangreiche und detaillierte Beschreibung aller Handschriften mit Kapitularien bietet. Die Zahl von 282 Handschriften zeigt die enorme Verbreitung dieser Texte im gesamten Frankenreich und darüber hinaus. Durch seine Studien ist Mordek auf eine Reihe von Texten aufmerksam geworden, die im Rahmen der bisherigen Editionen übersehen worden waren. In einer vorläufigen Edition hat er diese 27 Texte im Anhang der „Bibliotheca“ abgedruckt.

Nach dem Tod Mordeks haben die MGH das Projekt aufgeteilt. Für die Zeit vom 6. Jahrhundert bis zum Tod Karls des Großen (814) waren die Vorarbeiten Mordeks bereits weit gediehen, weshalb die Vollendung dieses Teils in die Hände seines Schülers Michael Glatthaar (Freiburg) gelegt wurde. Die Kapitularien der Zeit seit 814, für die es keine Vorarbeiten gab, übernahm Klaus Zechiel-Eckes (Köln). Zechiel-Eckes beteiligte sich an einer Probeedition des wirkmächtigsten Kapitulars, der Admonitio generalis Karls des Großen (von 789), die im Jahr 2012 von den MGH publiziert wurde (Glatthaar 2013a [Ndr.]). Er konnte jedoch die Arbeit am zweiten Teil der Edition bis zu seinem Tod (2010) nicht mehr aufnehmen. Deshalb wurde dieser Teil im Jahr 2011 einem Editorenteam übertragen: Philippe Depreux (Universität Hamburg), Stefan Esders (Freie Universität Berlin), Steffen Patzold (Universität Tübingen) und Karl Ubl (Universität zu Köln).