What are capitularies?

Definition

The decrees of the Frankish rulers are known as capitularies because of their subdivision into chapters (lat. capitula). They are amongst the most important sources for the history of the Frankish kingdoms that covered large parts of Western and Central Europe from the 6th-9th century. They are instructions similar to laws, ordinances or provisions, regulating political, military, ecclesiastical, social, economic and cultural matters.

Capitularies shed light on Frankish rulers’s attempts to govern their extensive realm. Specifically they provide information about their efforts to reform church, society and empire, about mechanisms for dealing with political crises, and about rulers interacting with their officials.

Definition according to Mordek: Capitularies are “royal – that is, initiated by the Frankish rulers – statutes and announcements of legislative, administrative or religious-exhortative character, usually divided into chapters, with the magnates of the realm often involved in their drafting and/or promulgation” (Mordek 1996b, p. 488).

… but in fact it’s more complicated than that:

“What were the capitularies?” – François Louis Ganshof raised this question in his classic introduction (Ganshof 1961). His answer was brief and to the point: capitularies were “decrees of state authority [Staatsgewalt]”. Ganshof’s position has met with fundamental criticism from various sides since its publication. In particular, his application of notions connected with modern bureaucratic state administration to the early Middle Ages is a major source of irritation today.

Nevertheless his introduction has still not been replaced by a new comprehensive account. In part this is probably due to scholarship having cast doubt on several assertions concerning capitularies that were previously taken for granted. Back in 1986, Hubert Mordek, who had been preparing a new edition of the capitularies and knew the subject intimately, already noted in regard to the state of research that nothing was “as uncontentious as the divergence of opinions” (Mordek 1986a, p. 25).


Consensus

In brief, unanimity exists on the following issues:

  • Capitularies are peculiar to the Frankish empire. Building on Merovingian precursors they had their apogee during the time of Charlemagne and his son Louis the Pious, a period spanning roughly 50 years. The tradition was mostly discontinued under Louis’ successors, with the sole exception of Charles the Bald in Western Francia, and stopped for good in the 10th century.
  • Their designation stems from their division in capitula. Usually numbered successively, these form sections which may sometimes consist only of keywords or fragmentary sentences, but may also present longer, fully composed texts. From 779 onwards sources occasionally refer to a collection of such capitula as a capitulare.
  • However, this kind of subdivision is not unique to capitularies – other legal texts, e.g. acts of church councils or diocesan statutes, are also grouped into chapters. The defining trait common to all capitularies is their issuer, the Frankish ruler or, in a broader sense, the royal court.

Room for debate

The problem of content

Going by modern legal concepts, it is somewhat problematic to refer to capitularies as laws or as secular legal sources (in contrast to contemporary law emanating from the church). For starters, there is the vast range of topics mixing “secular” and “ecclesiastical” aspects. Additionally, a single capitulary may thus contain additions to a law code (lex; chiefly dealing with penal tariffs for certain crimes) alongside general admonitions for a more godly Christian life, recalling in their style more a sermon than a sober legal text (cf. Buck 1997).

Finally, the various regulations recorded in the capitularies differ significantly in their claim to validity. More general provisions sit right next to very specific instructions for the royal missi on how they should act in a certain case. These directions were only valid for a limited time and became obsolete as soon as they had been carried out.

Diversity of form

Capitularies are heterogeneous in their form. Some pieces are very elaborate, with formulaic passages opening and closing the text proper (e.g. the so called Admonitio generalis, ed. Glatthaar 2013a). Others are hardly more than a list of keywords, devoid of any reference to either their date or the ruler by whom they were issued. This lack of concern for outward form indicates that, for contemporaries, factual content was more important than authentic wording (Mordek 1996a, p. 37).

In any case, the formal heterogeneity of capitularies does not result from a deformation induced by transmission but is a specific trait of the genre. Recent scholarship links this trait to different phases of drafting or the involvement of different individuals therein. There need not always have been an “official” text (Mordek 1996a; Patzold 2007, pp. 349-50).

The problem of transmission

Describing what constitutes a capitulary is made all the more difficult by the complete lack of extant originals. All texts that have come down to us are exclusively transmitted as copies within collections. Sometimes these copies differ considerably, making it very hard to reconstruct a potential original.

These collections were compiled individually by royal agents according to their interests and needs. There never was an “official” collection produced by and kept at court. Even the royal court has been shown to use the collection assembled by Ansegis, abbot of Fontenelle/St-Wandrille, on his own initiative (ed. Schmitz G 1996). Whether there was ever a centrally directed production of manuscripts with secular law, as suggested by some scholars (e.g. McKitterick 1993), has been cast into doubt (Mordek 1996; Ubl 2014).

Besides Ansegis there were further anonymous collectors whose activity can be traced via the manuscripts. The number of 300 extant manuscripts illustrates the wide dissemination of these texts across the Frankish empire. One aim of the project will be to analyse the collections in order to find an answer to the question of how contemporaries received and transmitted capitularies.

The context of production

Many capitularies were drawn up during the course of a royal assembly. They provide insight into the deliberations and preliminary drafts in the run-up to the meeting. Some are also the result of discussions and policy amendments that came about during an assembly. The transmission of those texts was carried out by the agents in attendance, missi, bishops and counts. They either produced their own notes on what was discussed or copied an official text, and went on to communicate the assembly’s decisions in their respective areas.

The idea popular in earlier scholarship about capitularies having been invested with legal power at a royal assembly by being formally passed and officially proclaimed by the ruler is no longer universally accepted. Capitularies could also originate outside the context of an assembly, e.g. on the ruler’s initiative or in order to regulate a concrete case (Schmitz G 2011).

The question of legal validity

The question of whence capitularies derived their legal validity from, and whether this required a written text or an oral proclamation is another relic from the 19th century based on modern ideas of statehood.

Today scholars no longer consider a ruler’s Banngewalt – the authority to issue orders – (Ganshof 1961) as legally constitutive. Instead, the importance of reaching a consensus with the magnates is given more weight (cf. Patzold 2012, pp. 35-6) for eminently pragmatic reasons: Frankish rulers were limited in what they could achieve on their own and therefore depended on the magnates’ willingness to support and implement any royal decision (Schmitz G 2011).

In contrast to earlier tendencies to stress orality and hence to accord more importance to the ruler publically proclaiming his capitularies, the role of the written word in all aspects of the Frankish realm’s administration is now given more weight (cf. McKitterick 1989; Brown 2013).


Further reading

Encyclopedias

Mordek, Hubert, “Kapitularien”
Schmidt-Wiegand, Ruth, “Kapitularien”
Schmitz, Gerhard, “Kapitularien”

Articles and monographs

Bühler, Arnold, Capitularia relecta – on the transmission of capitularies
Buck, Thomas M., Admonitio und Praedicatio, pp. 1-13 – detailed history of capitulary scholarship
Campbell, Philipp, Die Kapitularien – concise summary from the perspective of legal history
Ganshof, François L., Was waren die Kapitularien? – a “classic”, albeit in several respects outdated
Mischke, Britta, Kapitularienrecht und Urkundenpraxis unter Kaiser Ludwig dem Frommen (814-840), pp. 4-23 – summary of the current state of research, with further reading
Mordek, Hubert, Karolingische Kapitularien – Mordek’s answers to important questions regarding form, transmission and legal validity of capitularies
Mordek, Hubert, Studien zur fränkischen Herrschergesetzgebung – collection of important articles by the authority on capitularies
Patzold, Steffen, Normen im Buch – recent considerations on the claim of validity of capitularies, based on a study of BK 33
Seeliger, Gerhard, Die Kapitularien der Karolinger – old, but still a worthwhile read

Was sind Kapitularien?

Definition

Die fränkischen Herrschererlasse, nach ihrer Einteilung in Kapitel (lat. capitula) Kapitularien genannt, gehören zu den wichtigsten Quellen der Geschichte des Frankenreiches, das vom 6. bis zum 9. Jahrhundert große Teile des heutigen Mittel- und Westeuropas umfasste. Es handelt sich um Anordnungen im Sinne von Gesetzen, Ermahnungen oder Verordnungen, die politische, militärische, kirchliche, religiöse, soziale, wirtschaftliche und kulturelle Angelegenheiten regelten.

Die Kapitularien geben Aufschluss darüber, wie die Herrscher versuchten, das fränkische Großreich regierbar zu machen: über ihre Reformen in Kirche, Gesellschaft und Reich, über die Mechanismen der politischen Krisenbewältigung und über die Interaktion zwischen den Herrschern und ihren Funktionsträgern.

Definition nach Mordek: Kapitularien sind „königliche, das heißt von den fränkischen Herrschern ausgehende, meist in Kapitel gegliederte Satzungen und Verlautbarungen gesetzgeberischen, administrativen, auch religiös-belehrenden Charakters, bei deren Abfassung bzw. Erlaß oft die Großen des Reichs mitwirkten.“
(Mordek 1996b, S. 488)

… aber eigentlich ist es komplizierter:

„Was waren die Kapitularien?“ – Diese Frage stellte François Louis Ganshof mit seinem klassischen Einführungsbuch (Ganshof 1961). Seine Antwort war kurz und bündig: Kapitularien seien „Erlasse der Staatsgewalt“. Ganshofs Darstellung hat seit ihrer Publikation von verschiedenen Seiten grundsätzliche Kritik hervorgerufen. Vor allem irritiert heute die Tatsache, dass er am modernen, bürokratischen Verwaltungsstaat orientierte Vorstellungen auf das frühe Mittelalter übertrug.

Dennoch ist seine Einführung bis jetzt durch keine neue Gesamtdarstellung ersetzt worden. Ein Grund dafür ist sicherlich, dass die historische Forschung viele einst als sicher geltende Aussagen über die Kapitularien in Zweifel gezogen hat. Hubert Mordek, der eine Neuedition der Kapitularien vorbereitete und gewiss ihr bester Kenner war, fasste den Forschungsstand schon 1986 mit den Worten zusammen, nichts sei „so unumstritten wie die Divergenz der Meinungen.“ (Mordek 1986a, S. 25)


Der Forschungskonsens

Einig ist man sich, kurz gesagt, über folgende Punkte:

  • Die Kapitularien sind eine Besonderheit des Frankenreiches. Nach ersten Vorläufern unter den Merowingern hatten sie ihre Hochzeit unter Karl dem Großen und seinem Sohn Ludwig dem Frommen, nur etwa 50 Jahre lang. Die Nachfolger Ludwigs führten diese Tradition, mit Ausnahme des westfränkischen Herrschers Karl der Kahle, nur noch in Ansätzen fort, und im 10. Jahrhundert bricht sie gänzlich ab.
  • Ihr Name leitet sich von ihrer Einteilung in capitula her. Dies sind meist durchnummerierte Abschnitte, die manchmal nur in Stichworten oder Satzfragmenten bestehen, aber durchaus auch länger und ausformuliert sein konnten. Eine Sammlung solcher capitula wird seit 779 in den Quellen selbst als capitulare bezeichnet.
  • Allerdings ist diese Form der Untergliederung kein Alleinstellungsmerkmal – andere normative Texte wie z.B. Konzilsbeschlüsse und Diözesanstatuten weisen ebenfalls eine Einteilung in Kapitel auf. Verbindendes Merkmal der Kapitularien ist aber der ihnen allen gemeinsame Aussteller, der fränkische Herrscher oder, im weiteren Sinne, der Königshof.

Offene Fragen

Probleme der inhaltlichen Definition

Aus Sicht moderner Rechtsvorstellungen ist die Charakterisierung der Kapitularien als Gesetze oder weltliche Rechtsquellen (im Unterschied zum zeitgenössischen, von der Kirche ausgehenden Recht) problematisch. Hier ist zum einen die große inhaltliche Vielfalt, die z.B. ‚Weltliches‘ und ‚Geistliches‘ vermischt, zu nennen. Zum anderen können in ein und demselben Kapitular Ergänzungen der sogenannten Volksrechte (leges), die sich vornehmlich mit Bußzahlungen für einzelne Straftaten befassen, neben allgemeinen Ermahnungen zu einer christlichen Lebensführung stehen, die im Tonfall eher an Predigten erinnern als an sachliche Rechtstexte (vgl. Buck 1997).

Überdies haben die in ihnen enthaltenen Regelungen einen sehr unterschiedlichen Geltungsanspruch: Es werden sowohl allgemeingültige Vorschriften formuliert als auch konkrete Anweisungen an die missi, wie sie in einem bestimmten Fall zu handeln hatten; Handlungsanweisungen also, die nur eine temporäre Gültigkeit beanspruchten und nach ihrer Erledigung obsolet gewesen sein müssen.

Die Formenvielfalt

Auch die Form der Kapitularien ist uneinheitlich: Einige Stücke sind sehr ausführlich und haben z.T. formelhafte Einleitungs- und Schlusspassagen (z.B. die sogenannte Admonitio generalis, ed. Glatthaar 2013a), andere sind kaum mehr als bloße Stichwortlisten und weisen weder eine Datierung noch eine Zuschreibung an einen bestimmten Herrscher auf. Diese ‚Formensorglosigkeit‘ weist darauf hin, dass nicht der authentische Wortlaut für die Zeitgenossen entscheidend war, sondern der sachliche Gehalt der Texte (Mordek 1996a, S. 37).

Die formale Vielfalt der Kapitularien ist jedenfalls nicht die Folge einer Verformung durch die Überlieferung, sondern ein ihnen eigenes Charakteristikum. Die neuere Forschung führt sie zurück auf unterschiedliche Phasen des Entstehungsprozesses bzw. auf die Beteiligung verschiedener Personen daran; ein ursprünglicher ‚Normtext‘ muss nicht zwingend existiert haben (Mordek 1996a; Patzold 2007, S. 349 f.).

Die Überlieferungsproblematik

Die Beschreibung von Kriterien dafür, was ein Kapitular ausmacht, wird dadurch erschwert, dass sich kein einziges Stück erhalten hat, das zweifelsfrei als ein Original anzusehen wäre. Die bekannten Texte sind ausschließlich als Abschriften in Sammlungen enthalten, die z.T. stark variierende Fassungen bieten, so dass sich die originalen Vorlagen nur mühsam rekonstruieren lassen.

Diese Sammlungen wurden dezentral von königlichen Funktionsträgern nach ihren Interessen und Bedürfnissen zusammengestellt. Eine ‚offizielle‘, vom Hof ausgehende Sammlung existierte nicht; auch der Königshof benutzte nachweislich die auf dessen Eigeninitiative zurückgehende Sammlung des Abtes Ansegis von Fontenelle/St. Wandrille (ed. Schmitz G 1996). Auch eine zentral gesteuerte Produktion von Handschriften mit weltlichem Recht, wie sie verschiedene Forscher annehmen (z.B. McKitterick 1993), ist fraglich (Mordek 1996; Ubl 2014).

Neben Ansegis gab es weitere, unbekannte Sammler, deren Tätigkeit sich in den Handschriften verfolgen lässt. Die Zahl von fast 300 erhaltenen Handschriften mit Kapitularien zeigt die enorme Verbreitung dieser Texte im gesamten Frankenreich. Ein Ziel des neuen Editionsprojektes ist die Analyse der Sammlungen, um die wichtige Frage zu beantworten, wie die Kapitularien von den Zeitgenossen rezipiert und verbreitet wurden.

Der Entstehungskontext

Viele Kapitularien sind im Kontext von Reichsversammlungen entstanden: Sie geben Einblick in die Beratungen und Entwürfe im Vorfeld eines Treffens oder sind das Ergebnis von Diskussionen und Abänderungen von Konzepten während einer Versammlung. Die dort zusammengekommenen Funktionsträger wie missi, Bischöfe oder Grafen sorgten für die Verbreitung der Texte, indem sie entweder Mitschriften produzierten oder Kopien von Vorlagen nahmen und die Beschlüsse dann in ihrem Zuständigkeitsbereich verbreiteten.

Von der Vorstellung der älteren Forschung, die Kapitularien seien auf den Reichsversammlungen in einem formalen Rechtsetzungsakt verabschiedet und vom Herrscher verkündet worden, ist man mittlerweile jedoch abgerückt. Kapitularien konnten auch außerhalb eines solchen Kontextes entstehen, etwa auf Eigeninitiative des Herrschers oder um konkrete Einzelfälle zu regeln (Schmitz G 2011).

Die Frage der Rechtsgeltung

Die Frage, woher die Kapitularien ihre Rechtsgültigkeit bezogen und ob dafür die schriftliche Fassung oder die mündliche Verkündung entscheidend gewesen seien, ist ebenfalls ein Relikt älterer, am Staatsbegriff des 19. Jahrhunderts orientierter Vorstellungen.

Inzwischen ist man sich einig, dass nicht die ‚Banngewalt‘ des Herrschers (Ganshof 1961) rechtskonstituierend war, sondern dass der Konsens der Großen eine wichtige Rolle spielte (vgl. Patzold 2012, S. 35 f.) – und zwar aus ganz pragmatischen Erwägungen: Die fränkischen Herrscher waren angesichts ihrer begrenzten Handlungsspielräume schlicht auf die Bereitschaft der Großen angewiesen, die von ihnen gefassten Beschlüsse mitzutragen und erfolgreich umzusetzen (Schmitz G 2011).

Gegen die früher zu beobachtende Tendenz, der Oralität und damit auch der mündlichen Verkündung der Kapitularien durch den Herrscher das größere Gewicht zuzuschreiben, wird die Rolle der Schriftlichkeit im gesamten administrativen Bereich des fränkischen Reiches heute wieder stärker eingeschätzt (vgl. McKitterick 1989; Brown 2013).


Weiterführende Literatur

Lexikonartikel

Mordek, Hubert, Art. ‚Kapitularien‘
Schmidt-Wiegand, Ruth, Art. ‚Kapitularien‘
Schmitz, Gerhard, Art. ‚Kapitularien‘

Aufsätze und Monographien

Bühler, Arnold, Capitularia relecta – zur Überlieferung der Kapitularien
Buck, Thomas M., Admonitio und Praedicatio, S. 1-13 – ausführliche Darstellung der Forschungsgeschichte zu den Kapitularien
Campbell, Philipp, Die Kapitularien – eine konzise Zusammenfassung aus rechtshistorischer Sicht
Ganshof, François L., Was waren die Kapitularien? – die klassische Einführung, wenn auch in vielem überholt
Mischke, Britta, Kapitularienrecht und Urkundenpraxis unter Kaiser Ludwig dem Frommen (814-840), S. 4-23 – Zusammenfassung des Forschungsstandes mit weiterführender Literatur
Mordek, Hubert, Karolingische Kapitularien – Mordeks Antworten auf die wichtigen Fragen zu Form, Überlieferung und Rechtsgeltung der Kapitularien
Mordek, Hubert, Studien zur fränkischen Herrschergesetzgebung – Sammelband mit wichtigen Aufsätzen des Kapitularien-Spezialisten
Patzold, Steffen, Normen im Buch – neue Überlegungen zum Geltungsanspruch der Kapitularien anhand eines exemplarischen Beispiels (BK 33)
Seeliger, Gerhard, Die Kapitularien der Karolinger – alt, aber immer noch lesenswert